Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Translated version question
I am looking to purchase for my first book the Aramaic Peshitta New Testament Translation - Messianic Version by Janet M Magiera which covers the new testament. My question is is the full Bible by George Lamsa worth getting even with all the bias I read about? Or is there another book to pick up to fill in the gaps missing from the New Testament to complete the Bible?

I am new to the whole Torah and want to get the most accurate Bible and I read some passages from Janet's and it's quite literal but yet easier to understand than many verses in the KJV.
It's said more often here. If you want the best Bible, learn to read Syriac or Hebrew. But since this is not feasable for all people, there are lots of translations around for which hot discussions arise, often.

The Lamsa Bible is not a 'as literal as possible' translation and I regret some personal believes which he included in the translation.
If you want my opinion regarding the best translation of the Torah, I don't have one. I usually just check more translations including the KJV.
Lamsa's translation is a really good translation (which I personally recommend), but instead of translating literally in some places, he instead translates with his interpretation of the word/idiom. He sometimes translates daywah and daywana as "insane" or "lunatic", rather than "demon" and "demon possessed", but this only happens a few times in the Gospels and Acts (he sometimes translates it as "demon" and "demon possessed" also). He also uses King James Version and New King James Version style, which isn't that much of a problem. Sometimes he uses Greek readings, but this isn't very common. His translation of the Tanakh is really good, and I read a lot of the Old Testament in the Lamsa Bible. There are a few strange readings: