Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Learning Torah by heart
I am looking to join (or form together) a group for the purpose of learning Torah by heart. Although I am a little further on my Hebrew journey than my Aramaic one, I am still a beginner. So such a group should be led, preferably, by people fluent in Hebrew.

To keep things in check and focused, this should be the main and only agenda of the group. I live in Chicago area. We could decide together where and when to meet. Or even meet remotely if somehow it happens that we have access to the software/hardware to make that possible.

Peace,
Greg
I am also in the Chicago area... it's an interesting idea... not sure how good I'd be at memorizing it since I'm in no way fluent in Hebrew.
I have no knowledge of such a group.
Shlama,

i'm nowhere near Chicago so i wouldn't be of much help, but if you're seeking to learn it by heart, i would suggest looking into the cantillation marks and start chanting the Torah that way. song-form has long been a great method to memorize any text, and i am sure it has contributed to many memorizations of the Word over the years in the Hebrew tongue. just a suggestion. there are lots of helps online to begin learning.

a dear brother has recently begun his foray into the world of the chazzan, and here's him doing the first chapter of Shir HaShirim (the Song of Songs): <!-- w --><a class="postlink" href="http://www.youtube.com/neuralangel">www.youtube.com/neuralangel</a><!-- w --> he's of Ashkenazi descent, but this is more Sephardic in execution.

Chayim b'Moshiach,
Jeremy
Shlama Jeremy,

I could see the truthfulness of your suggestion with kids too. If you want them to learn something, have them sing it and they will learn it easily and without much effort. Unfortunately I am not too gifted on the music front. So I would rather not sing it. Not for my sake, I still love to sing, but for the sake of those around. :-)