Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
PASSOVER CONFUSION
I am new to understanding the tenets of passover. I desire to understand the keeping of Passover.

Firstly this year 2011 passover begins on Monday erev 18th of April. Does evening seder usher in the First High Sabbath of unleavened bread?
or
Does the following day the Tuesday 19th april become the preparation day for the holy convocation beginning Tuesday evening and carrying through Wednesday. I find it little confusing between the Shemoth Mitzwot and Vayiqra Mitzwot. Shemoth, Vayiqra and Bemidbar describes that the eating of unleavened bread is a 7 day feast. Vayiqra 23:5 reads ?ben arbayim? which in my understanding means between the evenings on the 14th. This seems to place seder at the end of the 14th going into the fifteenth day. This allows a 7 day feast as commanded. It also allows all leaven to be purged prior to seder thus bringing seder in harmoy with the 7 day mo?edim.

It gets really tricky when I look at the synoptics verses John.

Mark 14:12 & Luke 22:7 both indicate that it was Passover, the day when they kill the lamb and this was the day on which YHSHUA ate the last supper with his disciples.

Alternatively John 13:1-2 says it was before the Passover and supper being ended.

This is where my confusion rests. From reading various discussions online I do not appear to be the only one. There seems to be two distinct camps when it comes to understanding Passover timing.

Option 1:
Day 1 begins at evening (afternoon 14th Aviv/Nisan) ? Passover seder ? opens 1st High Sabbath of Unleavened bread
Day 1 cont.. ? (15th Aviv/Nisan) ? 1st High Sabbath
Day 2 ? (16h Aviv / Nisan)
Day 3 ? (17th Aviv / Nisan)
Day 4 ? (18th Aviv / Nisan)
Day 5 ? (19th Aviv / Nisan)
Day 6 ? (20th Aviv / Nisan) ? evening begins 2nd High Sabbath of Unleavened bread
Day 7 ? (21st Aviv / Nisan) ? 2nd High Sabbath of Unleavened bread continues

Option 2:
Day 1 (afternoon 14th Aviv/Nisan) ? Passover seder