Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Introduction
Shlama all

I thought it would be good to introduce myself to you.

My name is Sami Rabia. I am Christian, or Messihi as we say in Arabic. And I really love to study Peshitta and Tanakh.

I have a small family which consists of Me, my wife and a little one (who is quietly contemplating in the womb right now)

My background is Protestant, although I have been invovled with various forms of it, my view on the Christian church has changed dramtically though over the years, and I have come further away, not from core protestant doctrine, but from being a protestant myself in a sense of identity, in that I have never really fit in with it very well, being from the middle east.

The discovery of the Peshitta was of course a very wonderful thing to me, I am still researching the whole matter carefully though, but its a very joyful work. I have to say that perhaps if it were just a matter of text, it would be quite interesting, but being that it has been gaurded by the CoE has led me also to a discovery of the CoE itself. (I did not know it existed!)

To me I don't think I could express what this means, since I have become a Christian it has perplexed me that all you can read or hear is of western Christianity, and western history.

I was also brought up a Muslim, and the troubles of the greek text laid heavily on me, if you can try and image the mind-set I came from, coming to the western world with its greek primacy and the textual transmission history of the greek, and yet knowing that even through all this, I know what it says is true, even if I cant know for sure, which text, I know the NT message is real, and Meshikha is the only Saviour. My Lord and my God, There is no other name under heaven whereby we must be saved.

I am very happy to be involved in studying this Peshitta together, to me, it makes a real difference, in so many ways.

I also Love CoE liturgy, I think how I used to hear