Peshitta Forum
how to translate "ena na"? - Printable Version

+- Peshitta Forum (http://peshitta.org/for)
+-- Forum: New Testament (http://peshitta.org/for/forumdisplay.php?fid=3)
+--- Forum: General (http://peshitta.org/for/forumdisplay.php?fid=7)
+--- Thread: how to translate "ena na"? (/showthread.php?tid=2984)

how to translate "ena na"? - yeshua01 - 01-16-2013

Does anyone how to translate "ena na"? Does really mean that when in 1st century Israel you were referring yourself as God? I'm fairly new to peshitta

Re: how to translate "ena na"? - distazo - 01-16-2013

No,

It means 'I am [he]' or 'I am [the one]'.

This phrase is explained as a shortcut to 'I AM WHO I AM', (Exodus 3) however, the formerly blind man, healed by Yeshu, also said "ena na", (John 9:9)

Now, translators as G.D. Bauscher, now translate this as 'I am he' and not as I AM.

So, finally, how 'ena na' is translated, depends on the views of the translator in this case.

Re: how to translate "ena na"? - ScorpioSniper2 - 01-16-2013

While I agree that Jesus' I AM statements in The Gospel of John are declarations of deity, I think that they should have just been translated as "I AM". This is an example of Bauscher getting too interpretive with the text as the translator, and while his interpretation is correct (in my opinion), he should let the Scriptures speak for themselves.

Re: how to translate "ena na"? - yeshua01 - 01-17-2013

I have realized that ena na to be translated is more stand alone sentence, and not almost every time Yeshua says itWink thanks for your input!

Re: how to translate "ena na"? - ScorpioSniper2 - 01-24-2013

"Ena 'na" includes four alefs, why is the third one omitted in the transliteration?

Re: how to translate "ena na"? - SteveCaruso - 01-25-2013

ScorpioSniper2 Wrote:"Ena 'na" includes four alefs, why is the third one omitted in the transliteration?